An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Strike Fighter Wing Pacific

Command History

Initially under the control of Commander Fleet Air Alameda, the Strike Fighter Wing’s home ported units were placed under the command of Commander Fleet Air Lemoore on August 25, 1969. On July 1, 1973 the name was changed to Commander Light Attack Wing, U.S. Pacific Fleet and additional duties and responsibilities were assigned to the command. Concurrent with the full fleet transition from the A-7 Corsair to the F/A-18 Hornet, the “Wing” was re-designated Commander Strike Fighter Wing, U. S. Pacific Fleet (CSFWP) on April 15, 1991. Over its history CSFWP has flown the A-1 Skyraider, the A-4 Skyhawk, the A-7 Corsair, the multi-role F/A-18C Hornet (still currently flown), and the Navy’s newest strike fighter aircraft, the F/A-18E-F Super Hornet.

CSFWP advises Commander Naval Air Force, U. S. Pacific Fleet of the operations of the west coast strike fighters and is responsible for the readiness training of all strike fighter squadrons deploying onboard the U. S. Navy’s west coast aircraft carriers. Additionally, the Wing is responsible for all aspects of training, manning, maintenance, and logistics support for all units under its command.

The shore commands which comprise Strike Fighter Wing Pacific and report to CSFWP are the Aviation Supply Department (ASD), Fleet Readiness Center West (FRC), Strike Fighter Weapons School Pacific (SFWSPAC), the Fleet Replacement Squadron VFA-122, and additional CSFWP Detachments onboard NAS Fallon, Nevada, and NAF El Centro, California. There are currently fifteen F/A-18 fleet squadrons home ported at NAS Lemoore, along with four permanently forward deployed F/A-18 squadrons aboard the aircraft carrier USS George Washington (CVN-73) and home ported at NAF Atsugi, Japan.

The "Flying Eagles" of VFA-122, the Navy's first F/A-18 Super Hornet squadron, trains Navy Pilots and Weapon Systems Officers to fly the advanced multi-role Super Hornet. The squadron also provides training for Navy maintenance personnel assigned to maintain this aircraft and its sophisticated systems. In 2011, VFA-125 (now decommissioned) was merged with VFA-122 to become the Navy’s largest F/A-18 training squadron. While the "Outlaws" of Strike Fighter Weapons School Pacific provide advanced tactics and ordnance training for the Strike Fighter community; the maintenance units at NAS Fallon and NAF El Centro provide support to squadrons deployed to those isolated training locations.

Since flight operations commenced at NAS Lemoore, the west coast Strike Fighters have led the Pacific Fleet. We demand nothing less from ourselves, our aircrew, and our maintenance crews today and will ensure the continuation of a proud tradition of naval aviation.

Previous Commodores
Rear Admiral W. P. Lawrence
Aug 1974 – May 1975
Rear Admiral W. L. Harris
Jun 1975 – Aug 1976
Rear Admiral R. P. McKenzie
Aug 1976 – Jun 1978
Rear Admiral R. C. Mandeville
Jun 1978 – May 1980
Rear Admiral G. W. Lenox
May 1980 – Oct 1982
Rear Admiral J. B. Busey IV
Oct 1982 – Jun 1983
Commodore D. B. Cargill
Jun 1982 – Aug 1985
Rear Admiral N. D. Campbell
Aug 1985 – Mar 1987
Rear Admiral J. D. Taylor
Apr 1987 – Aug 1988
Captain M. R. Rackowitz
Aug 1988 – Jun 1989
Rear Admiral S. R. Briggs
Jun 1989 – May 1991
Rear Admiral B. J. Smith
May 1991 – Jun 1983
Captain J. B. Singleton
Jun 1993 – Jun 1994
Captain J. T. Morris
Jun 1994 – Jul 1996
Captain D. L. Clarkson
Jul 1996 – Jul 1999
Captain Z. P. May
Jul 1999 – Oct 2001
Captain M. I. Fox
Oct 2001 – Nov 2001
Captain T. D. Rains
Nov 2001 – Jul 2003
Captain V. F. Shorts
Jul 2003 – Sep 2005
Captain G. Shoman
Sep 2005 – Jun 2007
Captain H. C. Murdock
Jun 2007 – Dec 2008
Captain S. R. Foley
Dec 2008 – Sep 2010
Captain M. A. Hubbard
Sep 2010 – Apr 2012
Captain M. E. Black
Apr 2012 – Aug 2013
Captain G. J. Keithley
Aug 2013 – Dec 2014
Captain D. E. Koss
Dec 2014 – Jun 2016
Captain M. J. Gudmunsson
Jun 2016 – Dec 2017
Captain W. M. Gotten
Dec 2017 – Dec 2018
Captain J. S. Bates
Dec 2018 – May 2020

Guidance-Card-Icon Dept-Exclusive-Card-Icon